andare. level3

you gotta go Italian.

« Older   Newer »

1. matteo tironi

User deleted

Andare.

Hi guys and welcome back to Easy Peasy Italian.
    Well, if you were wondering why I haven't been posting for a while, well, that's because I was quite swamped with uni stuff, and because I was thinking about what topic to cover next.
    At first, I considered banal stuff like historical past, articles and their weird behaviour with prepositions, reflexive verbs and so on (what? Do you think I should talk about them as well? Fine then ;)) but then I came up with andare.
    Yeah, the easy easy version of to go in Italian, andare.

Let's cover the basic grammar first. Just like pretty much every verb in Italian you'll ever come across, andare is irregular, rejoice :)

io vado
    tu vai
    lui/lei va
    noi andiamo
    voi andate
    loro vanno

well, it kind of resembles the French aller (which I studied ages ago and I'd rather not talk about, French makes me feel like a middle-schooler XP)
    as for the past participle, it is andato, and the auxiliary is essere, because it is a intransitive verb (without a direct object, can you go something???).
    Moreover, if you think about it, you'll notice that it kind of makes sense, because English uses structures with to be (although not as an auxiliary verb but still) with this kind of verb.
    eg.

I'm gone
    I've gone

both these two translate as
    sono andato,

and roughly mean the same in English as well.
    Yeah, you could object that in the first sentence I'm talking about a state of being while in the second about a fact that happened in the past, still, the result is the very same.
    This goes for all these verbs, such as to die and to be , but also for others like to come, to survive and such. Anyway, I'll talk about essere vs avere as auxiliary in a devoted article.

Anyhow, let's not digress.
    Ok, so andare means to go.